On-Air Now
On-Air Now
Listen Live

XFL Draft 2019

The first draft of the XFL is underway and the format is a bit different from what NFL fans are accustomed to. Probably the most significant difference is that each of the 8 teams were assigned a quarterback prior to the start of the draft. Pearl City alum Jordan Ta’amu (Ole Miss 2017-2018) was assigned to the St. Louis Battlehawks while June Jones’ Houston Roughnecks received Temple University’s four-year letter winner Phillip Walker (2013-2016).

The draft consists of five separates phases.  Phases 1-4 go for 10 rounds each and phase 5 continues until each team fills out its 71-man roster.

Phase 1 — skill players (QB, RB, WR, TE)
Phase 2 — offensive line (OT, G, C)
Phase 3 — defensive front seven (DL, LB)
Phase 4 — secondary (CB, S)
Phase 5 — open draft (all remaining players, including P/K/LS)
Teams have 90 seconds between selections.

Former University of Hawai’i players in this draft are RB Ka’imi Chung, OG Dejon Allen, DE Meffy Koloamatangi, and LS Noah Borden.  After completion of the first three phases, Dejon Allen was the only Rainbow Warrior drafted, going in the 10th round of phase 2 to the St. Louis Battlehawks. Allen (6’3″, 304 lbs) was signed by the Chicago Bears in 2018 out of Hawaii and then signed with Green Bay this past August before being released.

June Jones’ Houston Roughnecks through the first three phases (listed in order of selection):

Connor Cook QB Michigan State
Kahlil Lewis WR Cincinnati
Sammie Coates WR Auburn
Kyle Hicks RB Texas Christian
Deontez Alexander WR Franklin College
Cam Phillips WR Virginia Tech
Jalen Saunders WR Oklahoma
Devin Gray WR Cincinnati
Andre Williams RB Boston College
Nick Holley RB Kent State
Cornelius Edison OT Portland State
Terry Poole OT San Diego Stat
Avery Gennesy OT Texas A&M
Demetrius Rhaney OC Tennessee State
Marquez Tucker OG Southern Utah
Gerhard de Beer OT Arizona
Patrick Lewis OC Texas A&M
Ryan Anderson OC Wake Forest
Marcus Applefield OT Virginia
Tayo Fabuluje OT TCU
Trenton Thompson DT Georgia
Corey Crawford DE Clemson
Edmond Robinson LB Newberry
Davis Tull LB Chattanooga
Olive Sagapolu DT Wisconsin
Beniquez Brown LB Mississippi State
Andrew Jackson LB Western Kentucky
DeMarquis Gates LB Ole Miss
Caushaud Lyons DT Tusculum
Drew Lewis LB Colorado
Deji Olatoye CB North Carolina A&T
Robert Nelson CB Arizona State
Trae Elston SAF Ole Miss
Marqueston Huff SAF Wyoming
SaQwan Edwards SAF New Mexico
Ed Reynolds SAF Stanford
Brendan Langley CB Lamar
Kendall Adams SAF Kansas State
Deatrick Nichols CB South Florida
Justin Martin CB Tennessee