On-Air Now
On-Air Now
Listen Live

All-Time Rams

By Lance Tominaga, ESPN Honolulu Web Editor.

Below is my lineup of the greatest Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams of all time. Trust me, it was not an easy task. The Rams’ all-time roster includes some of the most legendary greats to ever play football, from legends such as Merlin Olsen and Jackie Slater to current NFL megastar Aaron Donald. I painstakingly pored over career stats and argued back and forth. And when there was a stalemate, we flipped a coin went with my gut.

This all-time Rams team has a blend of old and new. Again, it wasn’t easy. For example, I briefly considered James Laurenitis at middle linebacker, but we went with Jack “Hacksaw” Reynolds because, well, “Hacksaw.” Also, does Jalen Ramsey warrant a spot on this list over a longtime Ram like LeRoy Irvin? (I think so.)

I did cheat a little. For example, the Rams never truly had an all-time great tight end – sorry, Pete Holohan – so I thought it was a great opportunity to slot in Elroy “Crazy Legs” Hirsch, who played both running back and receiver for the franchise.

As for the head coach, I went with Dick Vermeil. Yes, he was with the team for only a cup of coffee, but he did lead the franchise to its only Super Bowl victory. That has to count for something.

So here’s the list. Let me know what you think!



QB – Kurt Warner (1998-2003)

RB – Eric Dickerson (1983-87)

RB – Marshall Faulk (1999-2006)

WR – Isaac Bruce (1994-2007)

WR – Torry Holt (1999-2008)

TE – Elroy “Crazy Legs” Hirsch (1949-57)

OT – Orlando Pace (1997-2008)

OT – Jackie Slater (1976-95)

OG – Dennis Harrah (1975-87)

OG – Tom Mack (1966-78)

C – Rich Saul (1970-81)



DE – Jack Youngblood (1971-84)

DE – Deacon Jones (1961-71)

DT – Aaron Donald (2014-Present)

DT – Merlin Olsen (1962-1976)

OLB – Roman Pfifer (1991-98)

OLB – Kevin Greene (1985-92)

MLB – Jack “Hacksaw” Reynolds (1970-80)

CB – Todd Lyght (1991-2000)

CB –  Jalen Ramsey (2019-present)

S – Nolan Cromwell (1977-87)

S – Johnnie Johnson (1980-88)



PK – Jeff Wilkins (1997-2007)

P – Johnny Hecker (2012-Present)

RS – Az-Zahir Hakim (1998-2001)



Dick Vermeil (1997-99)

#          #          #