On-Air Now
On-Air Now
Listen Live

Team Wags vs Team Mack

By Lance Tominaga, ESPN Honolulu Web Editor.

In 1992, Bob Wagner led the University of Hawaii to the program’s first Western Athletic Conference championship. Eighteen years later, in 2010, Greg McMackin led the Rainbow Warriors to their last WAC title (UH would join the Mountain West Conference in 2012). Both of these head coaches had their ups and downs in Hawaii, but both men also authored some of the greatest moments in program history.

What would happen if the best players from the “Wags Era” played against the top talents from the “Mack Era”?

Below are the rosters that I came up with. (Yes, I know I missed out on some players. Help me out!) So, which team do YOU think would win this dream game?


QUARTERBACKS: Garrett Gabriel. Michael Carter. Warren Jones. Ivin Jasper.

RUNNING BACKS: Travis Sims. Heikoti Fakava. Jamal Farmer. Tupu Alualu.

SLOTBACKS: Jeff Sydner. Dane McArthur.

WIDE RECEIVERS: Darrick Branch. Chris Roscoe. Brian Gordon.

OFFENSIVE LINEMEN: Doug Vaioleti. Peter Pale. Larry Jones. Leo Goeas. Mitch Ka’aiali’i. Kendall Goo. Kelly McGill.

DEFENSIVE LINEMEN: Ma‘a Tanuvasa. Ta‘ase Faumui. Herman Talley. Dana Directo. George Noga.

LINEBACKERS: Mark Odom. Junior Fa‘avae. David Maeva. Manly Williams. Joaquin Barnett.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Bryan Addison. Mike Tresler. Walter Briggs. Tony Pang Kee. Kenny Harper.

KICKERS: Jason Elam.

PUNTERS: Jason Elam. Kyle Ah Loo.

RETURN SPECIALISTS: Jeff Sydner. Matt Harding. Larry Khan-Smith.


QUARTERBACKS: Bryant Moniz. Greg Alexander.

RUNNING BACKS: Alex Green. Joey Iosefa. Leon Wright-Jackson.

WIDE RECEIVERS: Greg Salas. Kealoha Pilares. Royce Pollard. Billy Ray Stutzmann. Mike Washington.

OFFENSIVE LINEMAN: John Estes. Aaron Kia. Laupepa Letuli.

DEFENSIVE LINEMAN: David Veikune. Kaniela Tuipulotu. Keala Watson. Paipai Falemalu. Vaughn Meatoga.

LINEBACKERS: Solomon Elimimian. Adam Leonard. Corey Paredes. Blaze Soares. Aaron Brown.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Ryan Mouton. Mana Silva. Richard Torres. 

KICKERS: Scott Enos.

PUNTERS: Alex Dunnachie. Tim Grasso.

RETURN SPECIALISTS: Mike Edwards. Scott Harding. Malcolm Lane.

# # #